HomeSportsCricketJozi Stars Rule Mzansi After Thrashing Cape Town Blitz

Jozi Stars Rule Mzansi After Thrashing Cape Town Blitz

Instead, they could only look on in shock as the Jozi Stars cruised to the inaugural championship by eight wickets.

Jozi Stars Rule Mzansi After Thrashing Cape Town Blitz-Surge Zirc SA
Jozi Stars in the field/Photo File: Google

Capetonians had come out in their thousands to see their team become the first side to lift the Mzansi Super League trophy in glorious sunshine at Newlands on Sunday.

Instead, they could only look on in shock as the Jozi Stars cruised to the inaugural championship by eight wickets.

- Advertisement -

The Stars were clinical in all departments, setting the tone with the ball by restricting Cape Town Blitz to just 113/7.

The Jozi Stars were crowned inaugural Mzansi Super League (MSL) champions after a comprehensive eight wickets win over the Cape Town Blitz.

READ MORE: Pirates Coach: Windhoek’s Artificial Grass Wont Be Easy For The Players

- Advertisement -

After winning the toss and opting to bat, the Blitz were in early trouble with Quinton de Kock back in the hut with the score on 6 in the second over.

When they set the target‚ notable contributors for the Blitz were Kyle Verreynne and skipper Farhaan Behardien with 23 runs each and the closest to them were Malan‚ Dale Steyn and Ferisco Adams who scored 17‚ 15 and 12 respectively.

Their highest partnership was 25 off 24 between Behardien and Verreynne in the middle of the overs which is hardly competition winning material.

- Advertisement -

Their problems started in the second over when star batsman Quinton de Kock was caught in the deep by Reeza Hendricks at cow corner from the bowling of Beuran Hendricks and they never recovered from there.

READ MORE: Modric Slams Cristiano and Messi No Pitch At Awards Ceremony

The following three wickets of Malan‚ Mohammad Nawaz and Asif Ali went for a mere 20 runs to leave the Blitz in serious trouble on 48/4 after 9.3 overs and needing someone to rescue their innings.

Verreynne tried his best to steer them in the right direction but he departed in the 14th over when he was bowled clean by Proteas star Kagiso Rabada and was soon followed by Andile Phehlukwayo and Berhadien.

When their innings ended after 20 overs‚ Adams and Steyn were unbeaten on 12 and 15 respectively and faced with a tough job of protecting a low total.

With ball in hand‚ Duanne Olivier and Beuran Hendricks claimed two apiece while Rabada and Daniel Christian returned with one each for the Stars.

The Jozi Stars reached the final because they finished second on the standings in the round robin and their eliminator match against third placed Paarl Rocks was rained out on Friday at the Wanderers.

- Advertisement -
Elize Coetzee for SurgeZirc SA
Elize Coetzee for SurgeZirc SAhttps://new.surgezirc.co.za
Elize Coetzee, a seasoned journalist, is the driving force behind SurgeZirc SA’s world news and world politics coverage. With an unwavering commitment to truth, Elize delves into global affairs, providing live updates, in-depth investigations, and thought-provoking analysis. Whether it’s geopolitical tensions, international diplomacy, or breaking stories, Elize’s incisive reporting keeps readers informed and engaged.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
- Advertisment -

Just Dropped

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x