Instagram is offering users whose accounts have been hijacked a new hope. The social platform is testing a new in-app account recovery process that will make it a lot easier for you to recover your account and put the hijacker in a hopeless situation.
The new recovery process will present a support form to you, requesting you enter your email, your address and phone number. You will then receive a six digit code sent direct to the contact information you prefer. The newest app will then make sure that it prevents hackers from using phone or email number codes to further hijack your account from another device.
Instagram said it users would be able to recover even accounts that have been hijacked and the name and address changed without stress. The social network has offered a safeguard that will make sure a user’s name can’t be claimed for a “period of time” after account changes. The feature will apply both to a hacked or a voluntary change.
Instagram did not mention exactly when the in-app recovery will be available for all users, but the user name lock-down is already available to Android subscribers and is currently rolling on to iOS users pretty soon. That said, the intention of the latest recovery process is to help users recover an account entirely within the app, instead of leaning on the security team to do it.
It clear that the social network company is acting on feedback, as Instagram account security is becoming alarming of late with words of exposed passwords and intrusion attempt grows. Though this may not prevent account hijacks completely, but it could discourage hijackers that hopes to take advantage of vulnerabilities in the current recovery process.
We also hope the recovery process of sending recovery code to email or phone number won’t be like that of Facebook, where the app only sends recovery code to the initial phone number a user provided regardless of the number of years involved and without creating a process that considers the fact that a user may have lost the phone number.
Even after taking you through a mail confirmation process, Facebook most sadly, still brings you to sending a code to a phone number you first provided when creating the account many years back. Unlike Google that provides several options for users who are struggling to recover their account, not just Google, even Twitter.